Boating safety courses offered across Nebraska

June 28, 2018 Jerry Kane

LINCOLN, Neb. – With summer in full swing, the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission is reminding water lovers to be mindful of the state’s education requirements for boating.

Nebraska law requires any motorboat or personal watercraft operator born after Dec. 31, 1985 to complete a boating safety course and be in possession of a course certificate. Operators must be at least 14 years old to drive motorboats and personal watercraft in Nebraska.

Game and Parks offers three options for taking boating safety courses. They are:

— Option A – six-hour classroom course followed by proctored exam;

— Option B – home-study course in which students can download study materials before attending a three-hour review and proctored exam;

— Option C – online course for a fee of $29.95.

Classroom courses are scheduled at locations throughout the state in the coming months. To find a schedule of course offerings, as well as other boating information, visit The course schedule and registration information may be found in the “boater education” section.

The post Boating safety courses offered across Nebraska appeared first on NEBRASKALand Magazine.

Previous Article
The Duck Stamp…One Of Our Best Ideas…
The Duck Stamp…One Of Our Best Ideas…

Federal Duck Stamps will go on sale today and will be followed by thousands of waterfowl hunters as they pa...

Next Article
Oglala Lakota storyteller featured at Ponca State Park event

LINCOLN, Neb. – Oglala Lakota storyteller Jerome Kills Small will be featured in a program July 7 at Ponca ...