Menking is individual champion at 16 yards at Cornhusker Trap Shoot

April 30, 2021 Jerry Kane

Morgan Krinke, right, of Lincoln Pius X, smiles after winning a shoot-off to take the ladies’ championship in the high school 16-yard competition at the 51st Cornhusker Trap Shoot on Friday at Doniphan, Nebraska. Kaylynn Sieber, of Marshall, Minnesota, left, finished second in the three-person shoot-off. (Nebraska Game and Parks Commission)

DONIPHAN, Neb. – Benjamin Menking of Fremont won a four-person shoot-off Friday to win the individual title in the 16-yard competition at the 51st Cornhusker Trap Shoot.

Menking was one of four shooters to break all 75 targets earlier, then, in the shoot-off, he was perfect on 25 targets.

Morgan Krinke of Lincoln Pius X won the ladies’ title with a perfect 25 score in a three-person shoot-off after shooting a 73 earlier. The high school team crown went to Millard West A, on the strength of 75s from Peyton Anderson and Ben Wilweding, with a 361 score out of a possible 375. Papillion-La Vista Monarch Lady won the ladies team title at 330 and Ashland 4-H 1 won the 4-H team championship with a 350.

There were 1,406 shooters from Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota, Colorado, Missouri and South Dakota competing on Friday. On Saturday, competitors will shoot 75 handicap targets. The high school shooter with the highest combined score from the two days will earn the Cornhusker Cup trophy as the overall champion.

Friday’s results in the 16-yard competition are:

Top 20 Individuals – 1. Benjamin Menking, Fremont, 75 (won shoot-off); 2. Michael Day, Bellevue West 1, 75; 3. Ben Wilweding, Millard West A, 75; 4. Peyton Anderson, Millard West A, 75; 5. Cayden Newman, Douglas County West Platinum, 74; 6. Drake Pietryga, Millard West A, 74; 7. Trenton Srajhans, Fillmore County 4-H 1, 74; 8. Johnny Gustafson, North Platte Gold, 74; 9. Garret Tachovsky, Blue River 4-H Red, 74; 10. Adam Kotas, 5 Clovers 4-H 1, 74; 11. Leonardo Ruiz-Juvera, Omaha Creighton Prep White, 74; 12. Clint Mumm, Ashland 4-H 3, 74; 13. Vincent Kuehlthau, Papillion-La Vista Monarch 1, 74; 14. Patrick Glesinger, Papillion-La Vista South 1, 73; 15. Wyatt Nelson, Elkhorn South Blue, 73; 16. Randy Koke, Ashland 4-H 1, 73; 17. Dalton Nielsen, Blair Gold, 73; 18. Mason Gerdes, Raymond Central Gold, 73; 19. Tyler Uhri, Falls City, 73; 20. Jarrett Koch, Beatrice 1, 73.

Top Six Ladies – 1. Morgan Krinke, Lincoln Pius X, 73 of 75 (won shoot-off); 2. Kaylynn Sieber, Marshall, Minn., 73; 3. Haley Johnson, Gordon-Rushville, 73; 4. Jayden Shigley, Lincoln East, 71; 5. Lucie Hemminger, Lincoln Northeast 1, 71; 6. Madelynn Oden, Lincoln Southeast, 71.

Top Three 4-H Teams – 1. Ashland 4-H 1 (Randy Koke, Parker Dimmitt, Dylan Siemers, Mollie Konen, Garrett Plambeck), 350 of 375; 2. Ashland 4-H 3, 349; 3. 5 Clovers 4-H 1, 349.

Top Three Ladies Teams – 1. Papillion-La Vista Monarch Lady (Cameron Sopinski, Audrey Irvine, Vesta Fitton, Scotlyn Kincaid, Carrie Hirschfeld), 330 of 375; 2. Norris Lady, 300; 3. Lincoln East Black 1, 299.

Top Six High School Teams – 1. Millard West A (Drake Pietryga, Brandon Fish, Aiden Alward, Peyton Anderson, Ben Wilweding), 361 of 375; 2. Beatrice 1, 358; 3. Douglas County West Platinum, 357; 4. Elkhorn South Blue, 357; 5. Blair Gold, 357; 6. Papillion-La Vista South 2, 352.

Jim Carlisle Memorial Second Generation Individual (traveling trophy) – Haley Johnson, Gordon-Rushville, 73

For more information, visit

The post Menking is individual champion at 16 yards at Cornhusker Trap Shoot appeared first on Nebraskaland Magazine.

Previous Article
Blue River 4-H’s Lorenz wins Cornhusker Cup in shoot-off
Blue River 4-H’s Lorenz wins Cornhusker Cup in shoot-off

DONIPHAN, Neb. – Austin Lorenz of Blue River 4-H won a four-person shoot-off and captured the individual cr...

Next Article
Hinze is junior high champion at 51st Cornhusker Trap Shoot
Hinze is junior high champion at 51st Cornhusker Trap Shoot

DONIPHAN, Neb. – Zach Hinze of Republican River 4-H defeated Kahne Packer of 5 Clovers 4-H in a shoot-off t...