Happle shoots perfect 100 to win junior high title at 52nd Cornhusker Trap Shoot

April 28, 2022 Jerry Kane

A spent shotgun shell is ejected as Elsa Andersen of Sutton fires a shot during the junior high competition in the Cornhusker Trap Shoot on Thursday in Doniphan, Nebraska. She broke 82 of 100 targets. (Nebraska Game and Parks Commission)

Wyatt Happle of Beatrice was perfect Thursday, breaking all 100 targets during the junior high competition of the 52nd Cornhusker Trap Shoot in Doniphan, Nebraska.

It was no runaway victory for Happle shooting targets at 16 yards at the Nebraska Trapshooting Association home grounds. It was a day of high scores.

Harry Morgan of Kiewit Middle School in Omaha shot a 99. Kahne Packer of 5 Clovers 4-H of Wilber, who finished runner-up last year, took third place with a 98.

The last junior high shooter to record a perfect score was Hayden Baehr of 5 Clovers 4-H in 2015.

Sara Thiellen of Ashland 4-H won a shoot-off over Ava Schmutte of Norris, after both shot 95s, to win the ladies’ competition. Norris 1 repeated as the junior high team champion while Lincoln’s St. Joseph won the 4-H team championship and Ashland 4-H 1 took the ladies’ team crown.

On Thursday, 935 junior high shooters registered to compete, the second-highest total in the history of the event.

On Friday, more than 1,500 senior high students are expected to shoot 75 rounds of 16-yard targets. They will shoot 75 handicap targets Saturday, and the combined scores of the two days will determine the overall champion, the Cornhusker Cup winner.

The junior high results are:

Top 20 Individuals – 1. Wyatt Happle, Beatrice, 100 of 100

  1. Harry Morgan, Omaha Kiewit MS, 99
  2. Kahne Packer, Wilber 5 Clovers 4-H Green, 98
  3. Conner Parrish, Lincoln Irving MS, 97
  4. Jackson Norman, Omaha St. Wenceslaus Silver, 97
  5. Garrett Lange, Broken Bow Karp and Krow 4-H A, 96
  6. Hudson Werkmeister, McCook Republican River 4-H 1, 96
  7. Kade Brauckmuller, Ashland 4-H 1, 96
  8. Nathan Scott, Buffalo County 4-H 1, 96
  9. Trey Stoltenberg, Northwest 1, 96
  10. Logan Beaubier, Lincoln Mickle MS Black, 96
  11. Wyatt Debrie, Gibbon 1, 96
  12. Luke Grollmes, Minden-C.J. Jones 1, 96
  13. Brayden Hulquist, North Platte Adams MS Black, 96
  14. Barrett Smith, Lincoln St. Joseph 4-H 1, 96
  15. Jacob Volpp, Lincoln Pound MS, 95
  16. Boone Elam, Lincoln St. Joseph 4-H 1, 95
  17. Witten Painter, Ainsworth, 95
  18. Garrett Brandt, Papillion MS Titan 1, 95
  19. Jacob Mark, Gering Platte Valley Claybusters 4-H A, 95

Top Six Ladies – 1. Sara Thiellen, Ashland 4-H 1, 95 of 100 (won shoot-off)

  1. Ava Schmutte, Norris Ladies 1, 95
  2. Lillee Ludlow, Ashland 4-H 1, 93
  3. Karsyn Bower, Burwell Kittens, 93
  4. Reilly Forsyth, La Vista MS 1, 92
  5. Sydney Gallaway, Maxwell-North Platte, 92

Top Three 4-H Teams – 1. Lincoln St. Joseph 4-H 1 (Boone Elam, Barrett Smith, Bronson Bixenmann, Brady Bixenmann, Samuel Huck), 466 of 500

  1. 5 Clovers 4-H Green, 458
  2. Ashland 4-H 1, 452

Top Ladies Team – 1. Ashland 4-H 1 (Addison Rist, Lillee Ludlow, Ella Stofer, Riley Ruff, Ellie Porter), 411 of 500

  1. Burwell Kittens, 375
  2. Norris Ladies 1, 351

Top Six Junior High Teams – 1. Norris 1 (Maxxwel Schultz, Britton Petersen, Hayden Bauer, Todd Munk, Hunter Knoche), 446 of 500

  1. Beatrice 1, 443
  2. Centura Burgundy, 442
  3. Northwest 1, 433
  4. North Platte Adams Black, 427
  5. La Vista MS Monarch 1, 427

The post Happle shoots perfect 100 to win junior high title at 52nd Cornhusker Trap Shoot appeared first on Nebraskaland Magazine.

Previous Article
Turtle Love
Turtle Love

By Gerry Steinauer, Botanist One morning last June, while photographing wildflowers in the Sandhills blowou...

Next Article
Commission approves 2022 big game hunting recommendations

The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission approved recommendations for 2022 deer, antelope and elk hunting sea...