OutdoorNebraska

Big Game Guide 2016

Access digital copies of guides and regulations publications from the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.

Issue link: http://digital.outdoornebraska.gov/i/678699

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 43 of 55

40 | Big Game Info: 402-471-0641 CHECKING DEER, ANTELOPE AND ELK • A list of check stations may be found on the deer, antelope and elk regulations sheets and at OutdoorNebraska.org. • It is unlawful to separate a deer or antelope carcass into sections smaller than quarters before completing the check station process. Quartering is dened as four legs, with femur or scapula naturally attached, and loins. Hunters may remove meat from an elk carcass in the eld, but the head and all edible portions of meat must then be presented at a check station. • If delivery to a check station is required, the head must accompany the carcass to the check station. • Permit and check station seal number or check station verication number must be retained when transporting all or a portion of the carcass to a point of permanent storage or processing. • Following the kill, hunters who harvest any big game animal must immediately punch or notch the permit or tag to indicate sex and date of kill. The canceled permit or tag must be attached to the animal, or it may remain with the hunter if the carcass remains in the hunter's possession. • Deer, antelope and elk must be checked in before the carcass leaves the state. • Deer harvested during the November rearm season must be delivered to a check station no later than 1 p.m. on the day following the close of the season. • Each permit holder must accompany the deer to the check station. • Deer harvested during seasons outside the November rearm season (Nov. 12 - 20) must be checked via Telecheck within 48 hours of kill and before 1 p.m. on the day following the close of the season. • Hunters must record the seal number and security code on the permit. • Antelope harvested during the October rearm season must be delivered to a check station no later than 1 p.m. on the day following the close of the season. • Antelope harvested during seasons outside the October rearm season must be checked via Telecheck within 48 hours of kill and before 1 p.m. on the day following the close of the season. • Elk must be delivered to a check station within 48 hours of the time of kill. BIG GAME CUSTODY/TRANSFER TAG Nebraska Game and Parks Commission Law Enforcement Division Date: Owner Name: Phone Number: Permit # or Seal #: (If big game) Estimated Pounds: Species Donated: # of animals donated: Signature of Donor: Recipient Name: Date of Transfers: This tag must remain with the game or fish being transferred to another person until it is consumed. NOTICE Game or fish taken in Nebraska must not be held in cold storage or home freezer longer than specified in season regulations. All game or fish take within or outside the state and placed in cold storage must be tagged. Game or fish taken in other states and brought into Nebraska may legally be put in cold storage, if properly tagged and identified. SPECIES AMOUNT DATE TAKEN For more information, visit OutdoorNebraska.org.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of OutdoorNebraska - Big Game Guide 2016