Access digital copies of guides and regulations publications from the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.

Issue link: http://digital.outdoornebraska.gov/i/1314256

Contents of this Issue


Page 12 of 23

BoatSafeNebraska.org | 13 Other Boating Information RENTALS Owners of motorboats for rent shall keep a record of the name and address of persons renting vessels. The record, including boat identification number, departure date and time and expected time of return, shall be preserved for at least six months. Rental motorboats shall include all equipment prescribed by law for that class of boat. It shall be unlawful for any motorboat livery to lease to anyone 17 years old or younger. SANITATION Every vessel with an installed toilet must have an operable U.S. Coast Guard certified marine sanitation device (MSD) Type I, II or III. Also: • If equipped with a "Y" valve, the valve must be secured by a padlock, nonreleasable wire tie or removal of the handle, so the valve can't be used accidentally or intentionally without the owner/operator's knowledge. • No waste or container of such waste shall be placed, left or discharged into or near any waters of this state. WATER SKIING Observer – All vessels, when pulling a person on skis, surfboards or similar devices and not equipped with a wide -angle rear view mirror, must have a responsible person age 12 or older as an observer in the vessel with the operator. Lifesaving Devices – A person being towed on skis, surfboards or similar devices must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved life jacket that is in good condition. The exception is during state-authorized regattas and similar ski and water shows. Lines – All lines, when not in use, must be stowed aboard the towing vessel. Skiing Hours – It is unlawful to tow or assist a person on water skis, aquaplane or similar device from the period of one-half hour after sunset to one- half hour before sunrise unless in duly authorized competition. REGATTAS AND RACES Game and Parks authorization must be obtained for all regattas, motorboat or other boat races, marine parades, tournaments or exhibitions on any waters of this state. Also: • The person in charge of such event shall obtain permission by filing an application with Game and Parks at least 30 days before the event. The application should indicate the date, time and location of the event. • Motorboats competing in special events may use cutouts during a period not to exceed 48 hours immediately preceding such regatta or race and a period not to exceed 48 hours immediately following such event. • Motorboats do not have to carry bells, whistles or fire extinguishers while racing. • Forms may be downloaded from BoatSafeNebraska.org.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of OutdoorNebraska - 2021-Boating-Guide-web